The Sciaredo Foundation

The History

In 1990, after the death of Marcelle Klein and the yearlong search for possible descendants, the estates of the sisters Klein and Tentori-Klein came into the possession of Kanton Zürich. During their life, the two sisters had written a will transforming the house in Barbengo into a residency for artists. After several years of “brainstorming” the Schweizerischer Werkbund (SWB) and the Artist Society Visarte (Zurich) established the Sciaredo Foundation together with the Sciaredo Association, which maintained the house from the late 1980s on. In 1996 the Sciaredo Foundation with domicile in Lugano was finally made official. In 2011/12 the seat of Visarte Zurich changed to Visarte Switzerland.

The mission of the foundation

The statutes define the mission of the foundation in the following way:

  • The atelier house has to be placed at the disposal of visual artists or other cultural producers, such as photographers, filmmakers, architects, designers, writers and so on.
  • The atelier house has to be preserved as one of the rare original examples of   “Neues Bauen” in the Kanton Tessin.
  • The artistic estate of Georgette Tentori-Klein has to be maintained in an appropriate way.
  • The activities of the foundation have promoted and made accessible to the public.

The board of the foundation

From 1996 up to 2013 the following individuals worked on the board:

• Willi Christen, architect, Zurich, first president and executive and representative of Visarte Zurich (1996-2010)
• Ellen Meyrat-Schlee, sociologist, Zurich (1996–1999)
• Leonhard Fünfschilling, architect, Zurich (1999–2003)
• Alexander Zoanni (2004–2012) as representatives of the SWB
• Thomas Rutherfoord, artist, Winterthur (1996–2003)
• Jürg Attinger, artist, Winterthur (2003–2009), representative of the Sciaredo Association
• Paolo Fumagalli, architect, Lugano (1996–2004)
• Lukas Meyer-Piattini, architect, Lugano (2004–2010), representatives of the Kanton Tessin
• Susanne Muller, artist, Prêles (1996–2009), member for the communication with French-speaking Switzerland
• Annelise Zwez, art critic, Biel-Bienne, representative of Romandie (2009–2017) and president of the board (2013–2017)
• Roland Gut, architect, Meilen, representative of the Association Sciaredo (2009–2018) and vice-president (2012/13)
• Urs Dickerhof, artist, Biel-Bienne, representative of Visarte Switzerland (2012–2017)
• Bernd Zocher, editor, Zurich, freely elected member (2012–2017)


The current members of the board

• Gabriele Clara Leist, creative writing coaching, Teufen, president of the board (since 2017) and representative of the Schweizerische Werkbund (since 2013) –

• Jachen Könz, architect, Lugano, vicepresident (since 2017) and representative of the Kanton Tessin (since 2010) –
• Myrtha Steiner, artist, Zurich, freely elected member (since 2016) and represantative of Visarte Schweiz –
• Alessandra Gavin-Mueller, director/producer, Lugano, freely elected member (since 2016) –
• Alice Gut, Mànnedorf, representative of the Association Sciaredo (since 2018) –
• Vera Gerster, Zurich, representative of the Association Sciaredo (since 2018) –